Reviews

recent stay 2 nights - Rating 5/5

This was the 3rd time we have stayed at Watermead. We cannot fault it in anyway - it is spotless quiet and very comfortable. It has an interesting history and breakfasts to savour using local suppliers. Excellent and a warm welcome too

Reviewer:JOHN D | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


A very nice stay - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay.The hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home.Everything we could want in an immaculate room and en-suite.Bonus was a large and private car park at the rear.10/10

Reviewer:Carol T | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Quiet and Comfortable - Rating 5/5

We arrived 2 hours early, but were very warmly greeted by Trudy (and family dog Chester!).Our room (7) was at the top of the house, up some very narrow steep stairs but the room was worth it.Beautifully and tastefully furnished, with a large ensuite it was perfect.The breakfast was plentiful and food locally sourced - really tasty.Nothing is too much trouble here.When we visit the area again, this will be our "go to"place to stay.A truly beautiful,classy relaxing place to stay.

Reviewer:Debbie P | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


OUR STAY AT WATERMEAD - Rating 4/5

GOOD LOCALLY SOURCED FOOD. CLEAN BEDDING. AWAY FROM THE MAIN ROAD. TRUDY AND DAVID WERE POLITE AND FRIENDLY. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.

Reviewer:AUSTIN WILLIAM E | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Watermead Guest House- Rating 5/5

Trudy & David Cole, our hosts gave us a warm welcome on arrival. As we had stayed before we knew what to expect. Comfortable bedrooms with en suite,tea & coffee making facilities,choice of breakfasts.Everything you could wish for.Plus car parking.

Reviewer:Carol S | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Home from Home! - Rating 5/5

Convenient overnight stopover for onward journey to the west country.Comfortable and clean room.Friendly hosts. Good breakfast. Vegetarians catered for. Plenty of off street parking. Quiet location.

Reviewer:Mrs Janet F | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Trudy and David at Watermead always provide a first class bed and breakfast,which are always very good.Jacqueline.

Reviewer:Jacqueline W | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


An absolute gem of a place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights and were made very welcome by Trudy and David. Excellent accommodation and a delicious breakfast. Thoroughly recommend this guest house.

Reviewer:Mrs Sue L | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Cannot recommend highly enough. - Rating 5/5

First time in a B& B. If this experience is at all typical then this will be the first of many.Friendly,helpful owners Trudy & David. Excellent breakfast, great advice on places to eat in the evenings and a superb base for us to visit the coast at Weymouth,Lyme Regis & Sidmouth plus Taunton & Yeovil.

Reviewer:Peter S | Wed 16th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Relaxing & Friendly - Rating 5/5

A very friendly & relaxing guest house where service is paramount.

Reviewer:Lee E | Tue 8th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Best Guest House In Chard - Rating 5/5

The Watermead Guest House has everything you need for a very pleasant stay in the heart of Chard. The building is in mint condition, car parking is very easy, and the rooms are all tastefully decorated. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean with en-suite shower and bathroom, with tea and coffee available, tv etc. Our breakfast was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. This is our go to place to stay when visiting family and friends in Chard.

Reviewer:Mr Brian T | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

The property is lovely, ideally located within walking distance of the shops and has a large car park. Trudy and David are very friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating with my needs of requiring an earlier breakfast and flexible since I kept changing my mind about when I was going to check out.

Reviewer:Nina C | Thu 14th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

We're becoming "frequent flyers"at Watermead and each visit justifies Trudy & David's description of their guest house. It really is a little gem and they don't hesitate to go the extra mile if help is needed.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry P | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Stayed on three consecutive weekends. Good clean comfy rooms. Trudi & Dave returned from a day visiting relatives especially to open up for us. How many guest houses offer that sort of service? Well done!

Reviewer:Barry P | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay with lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Recent stay with my partner was lovely. Welcomed on arrival with some homemade brownies.Stayed in room 7 on the very top floor with a comfortable bed and large bathroom with power shower.Lovely full English breakfast each morning.Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Sarah Louise J | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely little hotel - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners, great breakfast.Ideally located in Chard with large car park.Couldn't fault it at all :)

Reviewer:John M | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Excellent . Thank you for a pleaent stay.

Reviewer:Tim T | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent location - Rating 5/5

Very central location, lovely house, good size rooms nice en suite excellent onsite parking warm welcome from owners. Excellent breakfast but would have preferred longer breakfast time (7.30-9) when on holiday nice not to have to rush in morning .

Reviewer:Alison S | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Faultless - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd stay at The Watermead. Exceptionally clean, modern decor. Spacious rooms. Superb Breakfast. Faultless. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs S P W | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Spent one night here to attend a wedding reception, lovely property and very welcoming. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with all you could need for overnight stay.Breakfast was excellent with a choice and was freshly cooked with local produce.Would highly recommend.Ask to say hello to Chester the beautiful golden retriever.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian H | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Me and my husband stay very regular and every time our stay is very enjoyable. Trudy and Dave are always very pleasant and welcoming. Food and service is very good and would highly recommend this guest house

Reviewer:Mrs. DoreenBaggaley| Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

I have been staying here for several years, and the personal service received from Trudi and David is second to none.This is a cozy well appointed guest house, with a breakfast second to none.I thoroughly recommend the Watermead to all potential guests.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful and clean room with plenty of room and 45 beds for the whole family.Perfectly catered for by Trudy and David. Many thanks for a wonderful week.

Reviewer:Mr. Florian R | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

we stay in many guest houses,Watermead is up with the best.very clean and comfortable,excellent food and very helpful and friendly hosts.would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. IAN P | Fri 15th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


A home from home guest house. - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and welcoming guest house in a delightful quiet location but close to many local attractions and the coast is a short drive.The proprietors, Trudy and David, are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The breakfasts were fantastic and ample.We will definately return to Watermead on our next visit to this area.

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Thu 7th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Pleasurable Stay- Rating 5/5

My aunt and I stayed two nights at Watermead Guest House.It is conveniently located in Chard, within walking distance of restaurants and shops.The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the owners were friendly and helpful. This is our third visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley C | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

One night stay in this charming, very personable B& B was superb. Very friendly, clean and quiet. Great traditional breakfast freshly cooked.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve H | Wed 8th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Charming Chard Stopover - Rating 5/5

Excellent one night stop-over on route to Cornwall.Lovely room and breakfast.We were made to feel very welcome. Great to meet Chester the dog.We would recommend to anyone and hope to stay again in he future.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard M | Sat 28th May 2016 | 2 years ago


The Visit - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, very friendly and welcoming, nice quiet setting, delicious breakfast and a beautiful dog. We will stay again when in Chard.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine A | Wed 25th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Latest stay - Rating 5/5

Once again I found the B& B very friendly, with comfortable rooms and pleasant surroundings and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Fri 20th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Watermead is a hidden gem great hosts and great breakfast will definately stay again and recommend to colleagues.

Reviewer:Mr. KEN M | Wed 20th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Always a great stay - Rating 5/5

I've become a bit of a regular by now and there's a reason for it! Lovely hosts, homely feel, well presented rooms and great breakfast! Couldn't ask for better value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben W | Fri 11th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant one night stopover - Rating 5/5

Having read the good reviews already, I was not disappointed. This is a very well run guest house with a lovely ambience and attentive care taken to look after the guests' needs. It is a spacious house, well set back from the main road, and so very quiet. Everything is well appointed, modern, clean and tidy. I enjoyed the breakfast, with items locally sourced. I would not hesitate to recommend Watermead Guest House to colleagues who work for the same organisation and frequently visit the area.

Reviewer:Mr. John W | Wed 9th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Should have stayed longer - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night on 31st October,2015.The room was perfect,as was the whole house,Trudy and David were a pleasure to meet,will definitely be staying again in my continued search for a property in Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. David K | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Not the first time we have stayed here and as usual we had a lovely stay.Trudy and David make you feel so welcome in their lovely house.The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts are so fresh and tasty.I would recommend the Watermead to anyone visiting this part of the country and we will definitely be staying there next time.

Reviewer:Miss. Laura b | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


B&Bs don\'t get much better than this! - Rating 5/5

My partner and I recently enjoyed a wonderful stay in room 7 of Watermead Guest House. Trudy and David are incredibly welcoming and offer great advice on places to see/visit/eat in Somerset. The rooms are simply but tastefully decorated and offer all the amenities one needs for a comfortable stay. Not a spec of dust in site! We thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast and would highly recommend David's delicious scrambled egg. Most of the ingredients are locally sourced and you can really taste the difference. The B& B is in a great location, just off Chard high street and offers ample parking. We will definitely return for our next trip to Somerset and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a 5* B& B in the area.

Reviewer:Miss. Tiffany C | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


just as good - Rating 5/5

I regularly stay at Watermead because of the hospitality and friendliness of Trudy and Dave, the comfy beds, well appointed rooms and easy parking. I would always recommend it

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey B | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Hotel, Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the Watermead Guest House when attending a friends wedding locally. Charming room and Trudy was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan D | Tue 4th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Very pleasant guesthouse- Rating 5/5

This is a very pleasant guesthouse

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah S | Mon 6th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Received a warm welcome as usual after a long business trip. This is a lovely weel appointed guest house with everything you could want for a night or more stay. Great breakfast and service from Trudy in the morning sets you up for the day. Highly recommended, and I look forward to my next stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Great family room and location - Rating 5/5

We loved staying at the Watermead Guest House. We stayed in the family room which was perfect for our needs:plenty of room, microwave, fridge, tv and lounge area, and separate to the main house which meant we didn't have to worry about keeping the children quiet! In addition to this, we were served a great breakfast with food sourced from the local area. Finally, don't be concerned that "High Street"forms part of the address since the property is set back from the road and so it is pretty quiet.It's a great place to stay if you want to spend time in Lyme Regis and the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vincenza Gabriella W | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


friendly & comfortable accommodation- Rating 5/5

I've been coming here a few years now, and Trudy and David always make me feel welcome. All the rooms are different and have their own character, free WiFi is much appreciated as is the tea and coffee making facilities. The Guest House is a the top of the High Street within a short walk of pubs and restaurants.

Reviewer:Mr. neale a | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Highly Recommend - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay - nice amenities, delicious breakfast and lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Miss. Anna R | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Honest Opinion. - Rating 5/5

we found this guest house both comfortable, clean and very welcoming.Our hosts were very kind , attentive and looked After us so well, it made our stay that much nicer.We can honestly recommend staying here to anyone visiting Chard and area, you would not be disappointed.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Allen S | Fri 15th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay with a good breakfast and a comfortable room.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Wed 6th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at this B & B.Made very welcome, excellent breakfasts and rooms extremely clean.

Reviewer:Mr. PAUL L | Wed 29th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Guest House and Great hosts - Rating 5/5

Stopped at Watermead for overnight stay. David was extremely accommodating. I felt very welcomed, the room was lovely and warm and very clean. The breakfast was very well received after a good night sleep. The only fault is that we only stayed the one night.

Reviewer:Ms. Kim B | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


A pleasurable stay - Rating 5/5

Very relaxed, very friendly very comfortable, very clean, Watersmead Guest House ticks all the boxes and is home from home, I recommend it to all ...

Reviewer:Mr. Brian C | Tue 3rd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Homely - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay, felt like being at home and the hosts were extremely friendly, adding a nice personal touch to the stay. Would recommend highly. Only downside is that you can hear other guests from inside the room a bit.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben W | Thu 27th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

As usual a very good service, with comfortable room and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Wed 8th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Very Nice - Rating 5/5

Stayed for three nights, nice clean and comfortable, great people and tasty breakfast. I would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. James S | Thu 18th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely Guest House, very clean and great owners. It's a pity it was only one night.I would recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. David Brian M | Mon 15th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Our stay at Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

We can thoroughly recommend this Guest House. We received a very warm welcome from the owner. Our room had a lovely view, was very clean and the bed very comfortable.Breakfast was served in a clean and modern room and was cooked perfectly. We can not fault our night away in any way and are very pleased that we found and chose Watermead. Can also recommend the Bath House Restaurant, 5 mins walk for a fantastic evening meal.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane C | Sun 14th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Attending Silver Wedding Celebration - Rating 5/5

We booked a 4 night break at Watermead Guest House from 3rd Sept 2014. Everything, and I mean everything was superb. Lovely twin room with extremely comfortable beds, Small but adequate en suite facilities with very hot water. Although we were at the top of the stairs we never heard any guests passing our door. Extremely quiet position about 20 yards off the main road. Breakfasts were truly superb cooked by Dave and his eggs which I tried fried, boiled and poached were lip smacking gorgeous and so beautifully compact. (The sign of a fresh farm egg!) Trudy was a lovely lady, always greeted you by your first name and really interested in how you had spent your day as also was Dave. My husband and I cannot praise too highly the enjoyable stay we had with Trudy and Dave. Plus we had a lovely time with our 25th wedding anniversary friends who we hadn't seen for quite a number of years.If you are anywhere around Chard then visit the Watermead Guest House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia B | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


it's nice to feel like home - Rating 5/5

It was a pleasure staying in your guest house.the service was just amazing.everything was perfect,thanks for making us feel like "home"!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Ioannis S | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


perfect family guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a huge family room, which easily fit the 5 of us. Fridge,tv, comfortable sitting area. Breakfast was relaxed with plenty of food. Welcoming to children and teens. would certainly recommend to families.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ceridwen M | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Watermead guest House - Rating 4/5

my partner and I have just spent three days in Chard staying at Watermead Guest house.It was a pleasure to stay there, room very nice and breakfast very tasty Mr and Mrs Cole are perfect hosts

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet B | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent as usual - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I have stayed at Watermead and I have been very happy both times.The guest house is clean, smart and comfortable.You are greeted like an old friend which is pleasant.There are good restaurants within easy walking distance and ample private parking. I will stay there again next time I am in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith R | Fri 11th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Beautiful bed and breakfast ideally suited for the town centre, accomadation was lovely although en-suite was a bit small, breakfast was delicious and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. would highly recommend staying here and would definitely return

Reviewer:Miss. Mandy T | Tue 8th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great night stay! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed at the Watermead guest house at the end of May 2014. We were welcomed at the door by a lovely couple Trudy and David.Chester the puppy was very welcoming too! The bedroom and bathroom were completely spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was very generous with a buffet available and a delicious full English.Needless to say we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Fiona M | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

As usual an excellent stay as has been the case for the last 17 years.A comfortable bed and a good breakfast await all that stay here.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Thu 29th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Clean and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome on my arrival, my luggage was carried for me to my room, everything was explained on arrival that I needed to know,I had a nice relaxing weekend in a clean room with a comfy bed! All that I needed was available in my room,my only regret (from partying all night), was not getting up to have the breakfast, which smelt delicious! Thank you Trudy and David for a lovely stay :-) xx

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet B | Sun 23rd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


House hunting weekend - Rating 5/5

It was a cold February Friday when we arrived. The heating was on and our room comfortably warm. Both nights we slept like logs. We cannot fault the breakfast and is certainly in our top three we've ever had in a B& B. We were very pleased with our choice and would stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher W | Sun 16th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Back again :) - Rating 5/5

I regularly stay at the Watermead because Dave and Trudy make me feel truly welcome, the beds are comfy, the rooms spacious and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey B | Tue 25th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

I stay at Watermead a day or two each month and I am pleased to say the standard of decoration and furnishings of the rooms is excellent and they are comfortably warm on cold dismal winter days. The cleanliness is spot on as is the food and the welcome from the owners. The house is on the high street with plenty of parking and only a very short walk to pubs, shops and restaurants. I thoroughly recommend it!

Reviewer:Mr. Phil A | Mon 10th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Watermead - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay, thanks. Have a good Christmas!

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart & Sandra B | Mon 23rd Dec 2013 | 4 years ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Great hospitality, spotless, character of thebuilding. Possibly the best classic English breakfast I've had. Very friendly, easy going atmosphere. Would definitely return

Reviewer:Mr. Alec C | Tue 19th Nov 2013 | 4 years ago


Excellent servcie and Accommodation - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with Trudy and David on multiple occasions and keep coming back because we find the service and accommodation along their personal hospitality second to none.Always made very welcome each time we stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul L | Mon 30th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


2013 stay - Rating 5/5

Once again I had a very pleasant stay at the Watermead Guest House and would definately recommend it.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


thoroughly reccommend - Rating 5/5

this establishment has made me rethink my opinion of british B& Bs. couldn't fault it, from the easy booking to the 'superb' poached eggs for breakfast!!! Your hosts are warm and friendly , the rooms very clean, comfortable and to a high standard.

Reviewer:Ms. Lynn G | Mon 26th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Having never stayed in a Guest House or done B& B before, we found Watermead an absolute delight. We were made to feel extremely welcome, our room was very clean and the breakfasts were "just heaven"- all in all a lovely break to the extent that we are planning on going again next year with our grandsons.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann B | Tue 20th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house, very friendly owners who made me feel very welcome. The guest house itself including the room was all very aesthetic and food was good. Good quality for money & would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Miss. Anne K | Fri 16th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Excellent friendly establishment,Trudy & Dave make you feel very welcome, good breakfast, I shall be going back.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy B | Fri 26th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Short stay at Westmead - Rating 5/5

What a little gem - Great hosts.Trudy and David(George ) can’t do enough for you. Very helpful ,with suggestions on the local places to go, eat and things to do.Made very welcome and the accommodation is to a high standard.We found the Watermead an ideal location to visit the coast and local attractions. Chard is a quirky small town with traditions buildings and shops.We would recommend this guest house and would have no hesitation to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip R | Thu 25th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Good hospitality at Watermead - Rating 4/5

This was a lovely establishment. Very well run by friendly hosts. Comfortable and clean, quiet considering close to a main road. Had nice little touches such as homemade shortbreadand sweets. Would definitely visit again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul J | Thu 4th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


A charming and friendly guesthouse! - Rating 5/5

Trudy and David are the perfect hosts in a perfect guesthouse. We had a lovely three day stay in their elegant, quiet, clean and friendly home. Their breakfasts were excellent and kept you full for all of the day and there was always more tea and coffee offered. Trudy and David were always helpful with advice on the local and surrounding areas to make your stay more enjoyable. The extra touches such as the homemade biscuits made it even more special. We would give it a 10/10! and would recommend your establishment to all our family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin C | Thu 20th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay at watermeade.Friendly staff and good rooms.Hope to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul W | Mon 17th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent overnight stay bed comfortable breakfast very good

Reviewer:Mr. David K | Wed 29th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Execellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice owners.The rooms were in execellent condition and the breakfast very good.We will come again.

Reviewer:Mr. Karl-heinz F | Thu 16th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay - lots of parking within a few feet of the front door, really comfortable house and hospitable owners;clean, comfortable rooms and breakfast to die for.The ingredients are superb and cooked to perfection and if you have the full "english"you probably wouldn't need to eat for the rest of the day.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Mrs. ElizabethB | Fri 5th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Watermead and I would definitely stay here again.It's so convenient, the rooms are excellent and the owners genuinely care about their guests.Pity I didn't have breakfast but judging by the smell and my past experience it's as good as everything else here.Everything you would want in a guest house.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh O | Sun 10th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


One night only - Rating 5/5

A superb,friendly establishment with everything you'd need for a lovely pleasant stay

Reviewer:Mr. MarkP | Fri 1st Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


a "Gem" - Rating 5/5

I googled a B& B in Chard for an overnight business visit, and I found Watermead. I travel extensively for my work and have stayed in many places, hotels, guest houses, B& B's. It is difficult to write something here which sums up Watermead.. I would just suggest you visit and find out for yourself, even if you have to travel a few miles out of your way. Holiday or business you will not be disappointed. Thanks Trudy and Dave. Zak sends his love!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Y | Tue 19th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Mr & Mrs - Rating 5/5

Very Friendly would use again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce H | Sun 9th Dec 2012 | 5 years ago


First rate guest house - Rating 5/5

Guest houses don't get much better than this!Friendly atmosphere, comfortable beds and a great breakfast.Thank you Trudy and David.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris F | Sun 11th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


over night at Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

My Husband and I satyed with my elderly mother over night. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the owners were very hospitable. I would be mindful that if you are unable to manage stairs easily there is no ground floor accommodation. Excellent breakfast!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen H | Fri 2nd Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Nice place - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at the Watermead Guest House. Trudy and Dave were very helpful with everything and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan M | Sat 6th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


tremendous - Rating 5/5

we had a fantastic stay at this tremendously comfortable guest house, the rooms are both clean and comfortable , and the breakfasts were fantastic.you could not wish for better accomadation & a friendlier couple who run it-thank you we will be back

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Sat 22nd Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


A lovely House - Rating 5/5

The rooms are tastefully furnished, a very warm welcome and a fabulous breakfast to set you up for the day. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny A | Tue 28th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


- Rating 4/5

As always, I found a warm welcome at the Watermead Guest House, and together with the comfortable rooms and good breakfasts I had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacqueline W | Wed 15th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Comfy friendly b&b - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfy rooms with a cracking breakfast. Just a short walk from the town centre. We had a lovely stay and Trudy was very informative and helpful. Only downside for some may be the shower in the bedroom but it didn't bother us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah-jane C | Sat 11th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, efficient, neat and tidy, well located. Everything a guest house should be. No need for TV guru's here!

Reviewer:Mr. Terry L | Tue 7th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

Trudy and David such lovely people running this establishment, Trudy made me feel extremely welcome when I arrived and I was well informed where everything was and where to contact them should I need anything further. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing, just very simple but as much as you wanted and most of all absolutelly beatifully cooked and presented nice and hot. This guest house was recommended to me and I would highly recommend it to anyone else.Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor H | Mon 6th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Pefect, what more can I say. Very friendly people who provide excellent service and a comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your hospitality. I highly recommend this guest house to all travellers who need somewhere to stay in or around Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan D | Tue 17th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


welcoming - Rating 5/5

Trudy and Dave were as welcoming as ever. A very pleasant room, clean and confortable with very good facilities. I regularly stay here and plan to do so many more times. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Karen B | Wed 11th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

Really friendly guest house. Owners are really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and Golf Courses. Windwhistle Golf Course nearby is a challenging course suitable for all levels.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave H | Wed 11th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


- Rating 5/5

had an absolutely delightful 2 nights.great comfortable bed and spacious room.breakfast fantastic - could not fault our stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia W | Sun 1st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Returning guest - Rating 4/5

This is the third time I have had the pleasure of staying here.The accommodation is homely, clean and cosy the breakfast and hospitality are even better.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pia T | Sun 17th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Homely and Friendly stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night passing through for a family funeral. This is a very welcoming guest house with good size double bedroom, nicely furnished and clean. Breakfast was excellent, very good value for money.Thank you Trudy and David for making a not so nice occasion more bearable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen D | Wed 30th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Great Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent value. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. Very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Norman D | Thu 24th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay!! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your kind hospitality, and we had a wonderful stay. Our son wanted to go back when we came back to london. Breakfast was very good, room was big, comfortable and perfect for family of 5, and we could relax that it was on our own so not too worry about youngest one making noise. We would recommend to anyone to stay there!!

Reviewer:Mr. Edoardo F | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay!! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your kind hospitality, and we had a wonderful stay. Our son wanted to go back when we came back to london. Breakfast was very good, room was big, comfortable and perfect for family of 5, and we could relax that it was on our own so not too worry about youngest one making noise. We would recommend to anyone to stay there!!

Reviewer:Mr. Edoardo F | Mon 16th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


terrific - Rating 5/5

even before the door was opened, I knew that I was in for a treat - and how right I was!!Fantastic welcome, great hospitality and a lovely room.I could not have asked for more.If ever I am back in Chard, I will certainly come back again to Watermead!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian P | Sat 31st Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again we were treated to a lovely hospitable stay. We can certainly recommend Watermead as a stop for a short break or a long term holiday. Trudie and David are wonderful hosts. Thanks again for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Catherine C | Fri 16th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Watermead Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, very clean, lovely decor, comfy bed with beautiful bedding, good food, car parking, all together a lovely guesthouse which I highly recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Jill B | Mon 27th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Good find! - Rating 5/5

Clear directions and good to have ample off road parking. Friendly welcome, very clean and comfortable and excellent breakfast. We will be back if we are in the area again.Anne and Bill Folkes

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne F | Sun 15th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


A Great Pre-Christmas Stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at Watermead as part of a weekend trip from Yorkshire for a friend's wedding reception. The place was very clean and tidy, David & Trudy were fantastic hosts who made us feel very welcome. I would recommend Watermead to anyone who is planning to visit the Chard area.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren B | Tue 20th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 3 nights at Watermead with Trudy and David. The room was really lovely, very clean and warm. A very good size. Water was hot and bed was really comfortable. Trudy and David were wonderful hosts and really couldnt do enough to help. A lovely start to my life in Somerset!

Reviewer:Mrs. Juliet D | Fri 16th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Always a warm welcome and pleasant experience - Rating 5/5

First visited WGH in September 2005, when attending our eldest daughter's wedding, and on that occasion our group of five stayed in the family room, which more than fulfilled our requirements.Since that initial 2-night stay, we have during the last 12-months alone, stayed a further five times.We both find the accommodation pleasant and quiet, as well as offering a lovely night's rest with a very hearty and enjoyable breakfast to follow.The welcome afforded by both Trudy & David is first-class, making our stay very relaxing and at ease.We are firm believers in that once you find somewhere that meets and exceeds your needs and where the price does not drain your purse, then why keep looking elsewhere.Whilst we have the need to continue coming down to Somerset to see our daughter and her family, then we will always try to stay with Trudy & David.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul L | Mon 5th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


nth stay - Rating 5/5

This was my nth stay at Watermead and nothing has changed. Trudy and David are still delightful and charming hosts, the beds are super comfy and the breakfast is exactly what i want it to be. I'll be back - many times

Reviewer:Ms. K Lindsey B | Thu 1st Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommend Watermead Guest House. Warm welcome from Trudy and David. Very comfortable bedroom with everything we needed and a delicious breakfast!

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan B | Wed 23rd Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Nice quiet house. Good breakfast. Would visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Reginald D | Mon 21st Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Autumn walking weekend - Rating 5/5

WE were made very welcome and had a comfortable stay with excellent facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew G | Tue 11th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Just perfect! - Rating 5/5

Having tried many hotels in the region to stay at with a toddler and a small dog, I think we have finally found the one we shall stay at from here forward.The studio has plenty of space, (as tested by our three year old running back and forth), was spotlessly clean, had good parking and offered everything we could want.The best part was being separate from the main house, our little lad could run, play and enjoy himself without constant shushing from Mum and Dad!Cannot recommend the Watermead enough! We shall be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren S | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


hotel stay - Rating 4/5

a nice friendly famliy run hotel, will be staying again

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Thu 15th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Watermead on several occasions and found the hosts to be very helpful, friendly and understanding.The rooms are great and breakfast also very good. I would recommend any friends who were wanting an experience in Chard or on their way to Cornwall to stay at Watermead Guest House. Very good hospitality

Reviewer:Miss. Janet G | Mon 12th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay with a lovely clean and comfortable room and really welcoming and helpful people. Amazing breakfast! Lots of effort and care clearly put into everything. Would definitely recommend without hesitation and will stay again next time I'm in this neck of the woods!

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna H | Sun 11th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 2 nights for our 1st wedding anniversary and my wife is 8 months pregnant so didn't want to venture too far afield.The room was nice and clean, good location in the centre of the town. Breakfast was good and hosts very friendly.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee G | Tue 30th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Cyclists welcome - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome to a clean and comfortable house. Nothing was too much trouble. My bike was stored in the secure garage, my cycling kit was dried over night and my water bottles filled in the morning.A very quiet room with an extremely comfy bed. Great breakfast in the morning. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Oliver G | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Pleasurable - Rating 4/5

The hotel was beautifully furnished and clean, breakfast was fabulous. Very well situated for the high street. The only draw back being the very steep staircase to the top floor but still a very pleasant overnight stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith R | Thu 18th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A good clean room, great breakfast andwelcoming host. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsey P | Thu 18th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Family Room - Rating 5/5

If you are used to Premier Inn/Travelodge family rooms then you are in for a real treat, best family room we've been in and for not much more than a Premier Inn/Travelodge room + breakfast which is included (and very nice) here!

Reviewer:Mr. Neil M | Wed 17th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Family stopover - Rating 5/5

We booked one night on our way to holiday in Devon, to avoid the M5 holiday madness. It is so difficult to find good accommodation for a family of 5 without having to book 2 rooms. The family room at the Watermead was excellent and comfortable for all 5 of us, with one double and 3 single beds. We were made very welcome and would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon H | Sat 6th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very good, very friendly, very clean. A great place to stay in Chard.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark P | Fri 29th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Highly professional with a friendly touch, excellent family room, great breakfast.No hesitation in recommending.

Reviewer:Mr. Gregory L | Sun 24th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


A Perfect Place - Rating 5/5

I pre-booked a one night stay at the Watermead Guest House online whilst touring about in Somerset and Devon.It was my first ever visit to Chard in Somerset but what an absolutely lovely guest house.The room was lovely and clean with an en-suite bathroom.Parking was no problem thanks to a nice large car park for the guests, and even though the guest house is just off the main road which made it easy to find its so very quiet.David and Trudy were both very helpful and friendly and told us about two local places were we could get an evening meal.The following morning an excellent breakfast made from local produce set us up for the day.It was a pity that I only had one night at the Watermead before I moved on but I would certainly recommend the guest house to anyone wanting a stay in the area.And I will certainly be returning to the Watermead on my next visit to Somerset.

Reviewer:Mr. John W | Fri 24th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Two night short break - Rating 5/5

Details obtained from the Internet.We had a very large twin bedroom with all the little touches that one would normally find in up-market hotels. Excellentlounge and dining room with hearty breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull owners. We would recommend Watermead to our friends for a short break in the area. We shall certainly stay again if we are in the Chard area. We wish you both continued good luck with yourexcellent business.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Wed 8th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

I've stayed at the Watermead a couple of times now and it is somewhere I am happy to recommend. It is incredibly clean;the breakfast is delicious;it is a charming building;and the owners very friendly and welcoming. Good value too.

Reviewer:Dr. John F | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


Perfect hosts - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here a couple of times for work reasons.Nice clean room.Wi-fi for checking your emails.Great breakfast.Easy parking.Right price and lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil B | Thu 19th May 2011 | 7 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Trudy and Dave will do everything to make your stay at watermead a pleasant one. The rooms are modern without chintz or candlewick bed spreads! the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and towels thick and fluffy. I don't eat a cooked breakfast but everyone else seems to enjoy it - I'm happy with my fruit and toast. I stay here quite regularly and have never had a complaint.

Reviewer:Ms. Lindsey B | Wed 18th May 2011 | 7 years ago


watermead Guest House - Rating 5/5

excelent, friendly, clean, comfortable and well priced.

Reviewer:Mr. neil b | Tue 17th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Lovely and Friendly Place - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely stay. Welcome was great, room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great.My daughter has asked if we can go back and she enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Tania B | Sat 14th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Family Visit - Rating 5/5

Excellent facilities for families in the Studio Room.Super breakfast - our grandsons (5 and 8) very impressed with the double yolk eggs!Proprietors very friendly and helpful.Would thoroughly recommend Watermead to anybody visiting this part of the country.

Reviewer:Mr. Glen T | Wed 4th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to travel down to the Somerset, Devon, Dorset region over the Easter weekend 2011 and pre-booked online to stay at the Watermead Guest House in Chard.The guest house was easy to find, with plenty of parking space off of the main road. On arriving, the owners were very welcoming and helpful, and continued to be so throughout our stay. The room was clean and bright and just what I had booked, while breakfast was also very pleasant.Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would certainly think about returning if visiting this area again in the future!!

Reviewer:Mr. Alex M | Wed 27th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Contact

Watermead Guest House
83 High Street
Chard
Somerset
TA20 1QT

01460 62834
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays